top of page

Importance of Studying Abroad

Studying abroad is important to me because it is everything you never expect but always much more. No matter the dinner you’re being served or the unplanned mishap that made you miss your train, studying abroad provides the greatest opportunity for a better life. As a commuter student from Kent Trumbull, it was unlikely for me that I would ever be able to have an a experience like the one I had in Florence, Italy. I don’t think I ever blinked while I was there. I could not stop wanting the food. I could not stop falling in love with the most beautiful frescos. I could not stop the desire for being at my MOST present state. Studying abroad is the best journey that a student can take on during his/her life and it is something that most will not understand until they have the same exposure. Now, I crave the gelato and pesto pasta. I have a greater appreciation for culture and diversity. Mostly importantly, I discovered how to find myself in the present moment. Studying abroad allows individuals to find out exactly who they are and want to be in the rawest moments of uncertainty. To quote one of my favorite friends, Alissa Thomas, “Studying abroad is an open door to a whole new life."


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page