top of page

Studying Abroad in America


Aierken Subinuer, known as “Subi”, is an international student from China studying Applied Communications here at Kent State University. To become more involved in the community here on campus, Subi has started her own segment on Black Squirrel Radio called Studying Abroad with Subi. Our office had the great opportunity to sit down with Subi and see her perspective on how it is being an international student here at Kent State.

What made you decide to come to the United States to study?

I did not like the education system back home. It seemed as if I was just listening to lectures, taking notes, and eventually falling asleep during class. I decided I wanted a change and studying abroad would help me explore more.

What made you decide on Kent State?

I was actually suppose to go to school in New York City, but it ended up not working out. I heard about Kent State from one of my teachers back home.

What challenges have you face?

One of the main challenges I have faced is the language barrier. For example, when I am on the phone with someone, such as customer service, I start to get frustrated because it is hard to communicate. I have started to write down things I want to say or ask before talking, which helps me communicate better. Another challenge I have faced while at Kent, is the ability to make friends. It is hard to make American friends because most people only look to be around people who are similar to them. I have noticed that people are afraid to reach out to people who are different than them. I have been trying to network myself better and reach out more to new people.

How did you get involved in the radio and has it helped you acclimate yourself to American culture?

Before I came in 2014, I heard about Black Squirrel radio as a freshman, but I didn’t have the courage to do it. Then, as a junior, I decided to join, because I realized that I am graduating soon and time is running out to do try new things. I have done a few episodes so far and it has really helped me learn more about the American language and help me meet more people.

What is your favorite part of having your own radio show?

I love the part that I can interview people on my show and share it with my listeners. It allows me to continue learning other people’s stories and perspectives with my listeners. I love the part that my show can inspire people around me.

Where would like to travel and why?

I would love to go to Japan for my next trip. I’ve become friends with a girl from Japan, Megumi. She is in Japan now, so I would love to visit her and travel around there to experience and learn a new culture. It would be exciting!

What has been your best memory while living in America?

My dad and sister came to the U.S. last summer and we traveled together to New York City, Washington D.C., North/South Carolina and Orlando. It was the best memory ever. I was happy that we could spend the entire summer together traveling here in the U.S., especially because it was their first time traveling here and they had a fantastic time experiencing the different culture.

Check out Subi’s radio show, "Studying Abroad with Subi" this semester! Time and day TBD!

https://www.facebook.com/Studying-Abroad-With-Subi-1280921941999216/

Instagram: bsr_subi


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page